The UK High Commission in Nigeria has warned its citizens against travelling to 16 states in the country for security reasons.

The United Kingdom mission advised its citizens against travel to Borno, Yobe, Adamawa, Bauchi, Gombe, and Kano City.

Other locations include the riverine areas of Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Cross River and within 20km of the border with Niger in Zamfara State.

This followed the travel alert by the United States last week warning its citizens against visiting 20 states in the country.

The Foreign Commonwealth Office, in a travel advice on its website, which was current till August 12, 2016, cautioned against all but essential travel to Kano, Kaduna, Jigawa, Katsina, Kogi and within 20km of the border with Niger in Sokoto and Kebbi states.

Other places include Jos, Riyom and Barkin Ladi Local Government Areas of Plateau State, non-riverine areas of Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers and Abia states.

The travel advice read, “There is a continuing high threat from terrorists. Most attacks occur in the North-East, particularly in Borno, Yobe, Adamawa and Gombe states.

“There have also been significant attacks in Kano, Kaduna, Jos, Bauchi, Abuja and Gombe. Further attacks could occur anywhere. Major towns and cities remain particularly at risk, including Bauchi, Kano and Kaduna, and Abuja.”

The mission counselled Britons in Nigeria to avoid public places where crowds gather, including religious gatherings and insecure public spaces like markets and transport hubs.

“A heavy security presence often indicates areas of particularly high risk; avoid affected areas in the immediate aftermath of any attack,” it urged.

Read More 


Vestibulum bibendum felis sit amet dolor auctor molestie. In dignissim eget nibh id dapibus. Fusce et suscipit orci. Aliquam sit amet urna lorem. Duis eu imperdiet nunc, non imperdiet libero.

Post A Comment: